Assignment 5 – Contact Sheets and Edit

The following annotated contact sheets show the progression and fine tuning of my three day shoot. My ‘On Location‘ post describes the process in more detail including lighting setups.

Although I had a description of what I wanted the image to convey there was still plenty of scope for additional ideas and props to come in to play. I reviewed my images regularly throughout with a more detailed analysis at the end of day 1 and 2 and half way through day 3. This allowed me to make changes for the next shoot. It also gave me time to reflect on what I had produced and how I was progressing in achieving an acceptable image in the remaining time.

DSC_7337 on Day 3 (Part 2) was my pick. This was selected because my expression offered an ambiguity in what I was thinking when looking in to the light. I ultimately favoured the poses where I had my back turned to the Bible. My gaze in to the light was a questioning look towards God. By staring up and away it extends the interest outside of the frame. Additional post processing to the image is detailed below.

Although my pose looking at the Bible was interesting it was too direct and also gave the image a closed feel. It also highlighted how small the space I was working in really was. My intention was to have a more open setting ‘a la’ Gregory Crewdson . Although this did not materialise it was improved by looking up and away

It wasn’t until around the 250th shot on Day 3 (part 2) that I had props in the right place and a lighting setup that I was happy with. Day 3 was also about getting my pose and facial expression right. I had spent very little time in advance on this aspect of the image. Although it was semi-autobiographical I was still acting out a part which I found very difficult. The lighting aspect was a technical challenge that I mostly enjoyed as I understood the basic principals. Posing, and capturing that on camera on the other hand was new to me. In fact it was made easier by having myself as the subject as I would not have been able to direct a model without getting frustrated which would have resulted in a poor final image.

My pose took the nearly the whole of the 300 images to get right. it was made more difficult as I had to have a slow shutter speed and I needed to keep as still as possible. As a result my poses were very stiff and unnatural. Of all the images I took I probably only had 6 that were in the running for my final pick and ultimately only 2 that were good enough to submit for a final assignment.

Admittedly I stopped shooting at the point I knew I had an acceptable shot but I was running the risk of finding an issue in the frame once I had left the rented cottage. I probably had another two hours left before I would have had to stop but I felt that I progressed well throughout the 3 days and never felt under time pressure.

All the work I had performed in advance certainly helped, especially as this was my first attempt at a studio lighting setup. Assignment 3 was my first indoor piece of work, but on that occasion I used available natural light. For this final assignment I had not only researched photographers but also lighting setups and equipment. Once I had decided on the combination of lighting I required, I purchased the equipment and then learnt how to use it prior to arriving at the location.

I took around 300 shots across the 3 days. Here are selection of those including the ones I have annotated above. I discuss problems and possible improvements in more detail in my ‘Student Evaluation‘ post.

Leave a comment