Assignment 5 – On location

Day 1 of 3

Arrived at the cottage and everything was as I expected and plug sockets were in convenient places. The first evening I spent moving a couple of items around. One lamp removed from the scene. Sofa and table moved closer to the window. I positioned the spotlight and LED panel on their light stands. I mounted the camera on a light stand using the tripod ball head allowing me to angle it downwards. The main decision for this evening was the angle of the shot.

I tried straight on in landscape and portrait. Although the portrait shot included everything in the frame it did not have the same presence as the landscape orientation. I still needed to work on my angle of view and exposure settings.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Day 2 of 3

The next day I spent positioning the props: Bible, lamp, bookmarks etc. The high angle of the camera was a choice to convey being looked on by God from above. Unfortunately the height of the camera was going to make setting up the camera a huge problem.

The Nikon App that I had on my smartphone only allowed me to control the shutter, which was useful, but I wanted a liveview facility or else I could see myself running out of time to produce an acceptable image for submission. A 30 minute break to research other apps and I found my saviour in ‘Camera Connect & Control’. There was a 3 day free trial that included liveview and full control of exposure settings. In fact I spent so long setting up the scene in liveview I didn’t actually take many shots in camera.

The table, lamp and bible set up centred on an open bible. Having read the bookmark text I was immediately taken by ‘I will trust and not be afraid’ Isaiah 12.2. I chose to have the Bible open on this page with the bookmark on the edge with the remaining bookmarks scattered on the floor.

A bonus prop came in the form of a ‘tether’ that was attached to the manger on the other side of the room. This was a prop I wanted to use as it suggested being weighed down. Initially I had it resting on the floor but then I thought that having it hanging from the rope would be more sinister and unsettling. Lighting it to get a good shadow on the wall was another challenge.

I set the orange manger light up and the blue gel spotlight behind the curtains. The camera in position and LED panel set up I changed in to my work clothes (costume) and started taking shots mainly with ISO 400, 1/50s, f/8. Spent the evening editing in Lightroom and identified some areas that I wanted to improve on the final day. There were multiple shadows on the bridle and tether that I wanted to resolve. I also found the results to be too noisy and so I wanted to get as close to ISO 100 that I could.

      

Day 3 of 3

The final day was all about getting my posture and facial expression right. I adjusted some lighting positions to provide clarity to the shadows. I also added a foil snoot to the blue spotlight to produce a directed light on to my head. This also had the added bonus of producing a partial light on the bookmarks on the floor.

My final camera settings were 20mm, 1/8 sec, f/6.3, ISO 100. This worked well as long as I kept as still as possible. The depth of field was also ok to get everything from back to front in focus. I would still need to increase the exposure in post processing but all seemed to go ok.

My final set up and some final shots are shown below along with a lighting diagram of the set up I used for my selected image.

Final Lighting setup

  1. Key light. 150W Spotlight. Blue gel. Foil snoot. Light stand on windowsill.
  2. Fill light. LED Panel on 1.5m light stand. Barn doors directing light away from the left.
  3. 2 x Portable LED work light. Orange gel.
  4. Table lamp.
  5. LED Panel desk lamp. Standing on sofa.
  6. LED torch attached to under side of table.
  7. Camera. Sigma 18-35mm lens. 20mm, 1/8s, f/6.3, ISO 100. On 2.7m light stand.

Leave a comment