Reflection on Tutor Feedback

There are a lot of positives within the report particularly the use of the eBook and the comment ‘You have evidenced your ability and enthusiasm to be open minded about non-traditional approaches’. Another positive is the comment ‘The images are straightforward and competently shot’…well I’ve taken it in a positive manner even if it may not be the most glowing of praise.

My attention is drawn to the comments regarding the effectiveness of the narrative within the eBook and whether an objective viewer would understand what they are supposed to be looking at. Changes to my edit and the layout will help with this, although I have had no feedback on individual images successful or otherwise. Looking at my submission again, and a brief view of Peter Fraser’s work, I think the tighter cropped images can be reworked to offer a clearer idea of my subject.

I take on board the suggestion of using a text device, especially in light of it being a diary, so there are a number of ways forward on this. Captions and text have become a confusing area for me based on previous feedback from my current and previous tutors. For this assignment I didn’t really give this much thought as I had feedback from my previous submission still fresh in my ears.

I will rework the assignment with a view to modifying the edit and adding some text. My first thought is to add a diary entry for each of my 5 ‘stories’, possibly covering a single day. ie. Woke up and asked Alexa to “play Radio 5 Live”. Possibly the whole diary entry will be a single day. Woke up and listened to news on Alexa; Logged in to work on Laptop and listened to music on Bluetooth speaker and then headphones.;Logged off laptop and sat down to listen to Amazon Music on headphones; Decided to watch TV/ movie on streaming device; Caught up on my social media world before going to bed.

I will hopefully be able to use existing shots for my re-edit by changing tight crops and orientations. I would like to stick with the same aspect ratio idea for the ‘old’ media size format. My main area of concern is amending the book layout and decision making on full bleed pages and how many images per page. I am up for the challenge on this as I have enjoyed putting the eBook together and I will hopefully gain in my knowledge in this area.

Leave a comment