Two Sides of The Story – Contact Sheets and Edit

To recap, the aim was to capture positive and negative images for each of the two main political parties. The images would be used in a ‘left leaning’ newspaper Sunday supplement style article and required a journalistic flavour rather than an ‘arty’ approach. The article would be written as a non-biased piece but the images would be pushing an opinion in the readers subconscious.

The shortlist ultimately determined the two sets I would submit: Pro Labour/Anti Tory or Anti Labour/Pro Tory. Note that I am a Labour supporter and I decided on Pro Labour/Anti Tory.

I have split the contact sheets in to each of the locations I visited. I will discuss in each section my experience, what images worked, which ones didn’t, and the reason for my final picks.


Location #1 – Witham Labour Headquarters, Collingwood Road, Witham

Having parked my car in the Labour HQ car park I went in to the office to ask if it was ok to shoot around the forecourt area. I asked if their was a photo opportunity of the local candidates but found that Priti Patel (Con) actually lived in Hertfordshire and would be voting there. The Labour candidate, who had no chance of winning as this is a very safe Tory seat, would be with his wife who was in hospital. A very subdued start and an actual flavour of the reality of most constituencies across the country where only a handful of constituents could influence the outcome in marginal seats.

The labour sign was the main subject here where I tried close-ups and wider angles with various depths of field. My wider angle shots captured traffic and pedestrians in the background. Most of these were a bit messy as positions of vehicles and people were too random. Also I was still having self inflicted exposure issues

Two ‘negative’ images were the strongest of this set. The road signs image(DSC_9686) offered a street photography feel and the red/blue combination I was after. The obscured blurred Labour sign and the bush of thorns in DSC_9698 was also a strong image but maybe too much blur for photo journalism.

Although I thought these were the stronger images my final select was based on my decision to submit a positive Labour set and a negative Tory set. This was based on the strength of images across all of the locations.

My final pick is DSC_9712, a straight forward image but fairly clean and pleasant which conveyed a positive feeling. DSC_9682 is a good stock image but too obvious for the reader/viewer.


Location #2 – Rickstones Pavillion, Witham

I used this location in 2016 and was hoping to a capture the red and blue doors only to find a new paint job had spoilt my plans. Not very busy at this location so didn’t stay long. I liked the dumped bike on the ground alongside the sign but I needed blue or red to fit my idea.


Location #3 – Templars School, Witham

Here I concentrated on the walkway leading in to the polling station. Having captured some candid images of unsuspecting voters I got in to conversation with the couple in red and blue jackets and told them about my assignment. They were happy to go back and walk towards me so that I could get some front facing images. They were quite stiff and unnatural but I managed some where they were not looking at the camera but smiling as if in conversation with each other. I chose DSC_9769 where the gentleman in the red jacket was the dominant figure which I could use as a positive Labour image. If I needed a positive Conservative image I would have cropped one of the images where the lady is smiling but putting the man at the edge.

At this location I also took the backs of a family where one of the people was carrying a bag with white and blue flowers on it. I felt this was a good negative Conservative image as we could not see their faces and there was something suspicious about that. I selected DSC_9747 as my select from this set. 


Location #4 – Notley High School, Braintree

Having started taking pictures at Notley High School, which I thought was on a non school day, I was asked to stop as the school was actually open. I understood although I was disappointed as the entrance to the hall had a multi-blue toned facia.


Location #5 – Golf Club, Witham

Having returned to Witham where I knew that there was a large Tory sign in a field opposite the golf course. Luckily the sign had become crumpled by the wind which I felt made a good negative Tory image.

I concentrated on capturing cars (usually red) passing the blue sign but kicked myself for missing the chance to capture a red Royal Mail van. I chose DSC_9820 as it included the back of a bright red car driving away leaving behind the broken sign in the background.

On walking across the road to get a different angle on the sign I was fortunate to find wild poppies growing on the grass verge. I spent a lot of time on this as I felt the vibrant red poppy growing out of the wild grass was fighting to overcome the blue sign in the background. I chose DSC_9889 which was in landscape which I needed for the set although there were a number of portrait versions that I could have picked.


Location #6 – Maldon Road, Witham

Another sign that I saw on my research visit was in Maldon Road. This sign was in good condition in well kept front garden and would be included in a positive Conservative set.

I also took a couple of pictures where the bins were more prominent but none made my final select as I had already selected better images which included the same signage.


Location #7 – Parkside Youth Centre, Witham

Another location I used last year that, within a couple of strides offered a view of the polling station entrance and the mini roundabout. The entrance was of interest due to the blue doors. Although I captured people walking in and out I decided on the empty chair image which I felt conveyed an unsettling vacant feeling. For this reason I chose DSC_0007 as a negative Conservative image.

With the roundabout and fence images I captured red and blue cars being obstructed by the fence and back to front sign. Depending on which story was chosen I would pick a red car and blue car version. My final pick was DSC_9985 which looked like the blue car was about to crash in to the railings.


Location #8 – Dengie Close Community Hall, Witham

The highlight here was the lady with the lady with the red rose print top. I had noticed her on the way in and struck up a conversation with her as she left. She was also happy to retrace her steps so that I could get more images. I chose DSC_0050 as she looked happy and the sun was shining on her.


Location #9 – Chipping Hill School, Witham

Another location that was short lived as the school was open. I managed to get a lady walking past whilst I was in conversation with a member of the polling station staff.  DSC_0067 was my pick due to the humour of the arrows and her smiling face. Her red hair and purple polo shirt was enough to include in my positive Labour set.


Location #10 – Spinks Lane Sports Hall, Witham

The door being held by a red and blue bungee chord tied to blue railings caught my eye. The array of signage was also key to the shot. My pick was DSC_0088 of a man who, at the point I captured him, looked annoyed and grumpy which I felt fit a negative ‘Tory’ set of images.

I have no idea what political persuasion these people are and for this image I did feel I was taking advantage of him as I was using him in a negative way. It was noticeable that I didn’t feel the same about the other people I had taken as I wasn’t  portraying them in a negative manner. I am sure the man would agree I wasn’t capturing him at his best.


Location #11 – Highfields Road, Witham

My final location was of a row of signs. Unfortunately only two and on reviewing I was disappointed that I hadn’t captured more of the parked car in the frame.

Leave a comment